Who Needs Reading Anyway?

As a teacher I am always telling kids to read books.  Go get your textbooks, silent reading time, we are going to the library to get books, today is the book fair and you can buy books.  You should read, books are good for your brain, keeps them from turning to mush.  All sorts of things involve books, but you know what doesn’t involve any books at the moment?

My life….

This is a sad, sad moment and is quite unusual for me.  I just haven’t had time or found a book that I really want to read right now.  So, I am asking, begging really,  please, help me find a good book to read. If you have a suggestion, just tell me the title, the author, and a short summary.  If you can’t think of anything please, pass this on to a friend who reads a ton so I can get some good suggestions.  I have been staring at the shelves of books at the library and just can’t seem to find anything that makes me want to give up civilization and do nothing, but devote myself to reading.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Who Needs Reading Anyway?”

  1. Jess Says:

    I love ANYTHING by Christoper Moore. Particularly Lamb. He will keep you captivated and laughing the entire time!


  2. I am with Jess on the Christopher Moore, but my favorite is Dirty Job. I am also a huge fan of Sarah Vowell from This American Life. If you like snark and Americana, read Assassination Vacation.

  3. Kori Says:

    Oh, have I got a thousand for you. Don’t know what you like but anything by John Irving is great. Anne LaMott is a personal favorite, but really, her fiction isn’t the best-but her essays are wonderful. Barbara Kingsolver-The Bean Trees and Animal Dreams especially, but she has a great essay collection called High Tide In Tuscon. Annie Dillard, for a more eclectic collection of essays, wrote For The Time Being. If you are looking for a good, thought provoking read, I Know This Much is True by Wally Lamb, though She’s Come Undone is also excellent. Gap Creek by….crud, I forget the author, will make you weep, and another great is The Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy.

    See, told you. I got more, believe me. What do you LIKE?

    • jennieology Says:

      The thing is I am a random reader, I like everything in moderation I guess. I have read I Know This Much is True by Wally Lamb and loved it! I have yet to read She’s Come Undone. I looked up some of your other suggestions too, and I am intrigued.


Leave a Reply

