Be Careful What You Wish For

My Classroom at a particularly calm moment

My Classroom at a particularly calm moment

There are many days at work when the students are driving me nuts and the only thought I have is, how nice it would be to hit one of them.

This past Friday, however, everything was going quite well, no need to even dream of hitting.  We were getting ready for a field trip, joking around and talking together (some of my favorite times) and then things went horribly wrong.  That’s right, I unintentionally hit a student in the face and they ended up bleeding.  Now, I am sure this is frowned upon by many, but you have to realize it is just a hazard of my Italian bloodline. We Italians are well known for gesturing while talking, I am not sure why, but it is something I can’t stop no matter how hard I try.

I was talking to one group of students about going across the room to get something, gesturing wildly, like I tend to do.  As I turned, to point to where I was talking about, another student was innocently crossing the room to come and ask me if he could go get his jacket for the field trip, needless to say my gesturing connected with his mouth and there was a strange moment of confusion on both sides.

I felt terrible and apologized immediately, but I also have this nervous reaction to things like that where I start laughing because I am not sure what else to do.  Which is not really a good idea when you have just had your fist collide with a student’s face.  Luckily for me, my students, including the one bleeding from his lip, all seemed to find the situation funny as well.

The rest of the day while on our reward field trip to go bowling, whenever one of my students saw someone not following the rules, they would say, “Be careful, Mrs. M. packs a mean punch,” and they would all start laughing.  I wasn’t sure how to take this at first, but really it worked out well, and the kids seemed to view it as a bonding experience.  So who am I to argue?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

4 Comments on “Be Careful What You Wish For”

  1. Jess Says:

    Seeing how I went to a private school and it was back in the day when they could actually paddle you, I am not sure if my whacks across the head were actual mistakes or not! 🙂 LOL!

    Oh well…I am sure that kid got away with something he shouldn’t have and you were just making up for it!

    • jennieology Says:

      It figures I write this and then I have one of those days! Today it was as if every student I have was on crack and could not make the right choice if I had paid them.

  2. Kori Says:

    Wow-I do the giggle under stress thing too, which can make an already awful situation even worse. Glad yours turned out okay!

    • jennieology Says:

      It doesn’t always… I will forever be known in my house as the lady who laughs when little kids fall and potentially kill themselves. Such as when my son did as a very young baby. I felt bad, but I could not stop myself. I am glad to know that someone else does this too.


Leave a Reply

