Who Do I Thank For This?

My job is generally a stressful one to say the least,  and I have never had a first day go as smoothly as today did.  I am sure that it helps, that of my 12 students, only 6 were kind enough to show up on the first day.  But hell, I am willing to take that victory and run with it.

By this time last year, I was ready to pull my hair out and I should clarify this to say, that today was a 3 hour day.  However, today was simply a breeze.  My students were polite, respectful, calm, and over all pretty quiet.  I kept looking around to make sure I was in the right place.  First, I work in a middle school.  Second, I teach a Cross-Categorical Self-Contained Special Education classroom, that usually resembles a three ring circus, not to say there isn’t learning going on, it is just a bit (or more like a whole lot) more crazy than one basement classroom can normally contain.

My first hint that things were different, I gave out snacks to each student and when I did, all my students said “please and thank you,” they cleaned up after themselves, and they had not one issue all day long.  I loved it!  I can only hope that this lasts through the year and that with each passing day, they will only surprise me even more.

So, today, I am paying homage to whatever gods are out there for the blessing that was my classroom today, and asking for many more days like this one.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Who Do I Thank For This?”

  1. Kori Says:

    I am so glad the first day went so well! But maybe they were just lulling you into a false sense of security… : )


Leave a Reply

