Procrastination Leads To This… If You Wait Long Enough

When my son turned one, my sister-in-law made him the most beautiful quilt, which started my burning desire to  be able to make one, too.  That summer, on a visit to see our family in Illinois, I did just that.  I bought $80 worth of fabrics (much to my husband’s chagrin) and cut them into strips, then I sewed a few and began to feel like a master.  I thought, “My god, there’s nothing to this! I’ll be a professional in no time flat.”

Procrastination for me is a way of life, so the quilt fell into my deep, dark hole of, “Oh, I’ll do that tomorrow.” For two or three years, it seemed like every tomorrow was not exactly right, so I finally had to come to terms with just working little by little and taking lessons from my sister-in-law whenever I could.

Finally, four years later, I have a quilt.  The quilt is a row shorter than planned due to my lack of organization over the years, but I am still very happy with the end result.

Explore posts in the same categories: Quilting

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Procrastination Leads To This… If You Wait Long Enough”

  1. Kori Says:

    That is a beautiful quilt! The colors are so great together. I got a sweing maching for Christmas one year, and was going to do a rag quilt; got the fabric all cut out and a few squares sewn and, well, I sold the machine at my garage sale last summer for ten bucks and immediately felt better. : )

    • jennieology Says:

      I completely understand, what is funny, is that I too, got a sewing machine for Christmas a few years ago and I have not used it once. That quilt was done mainly at my in-laws house with their machine. Something about never having used it now makes it seem like if I do something bad will happen.


  2. C. K. Dexter Haven, you have unsuspected depth!

    Not really, just a favorite quote. How about unsuspected sewing skills? Beautiful.

    • jennieology Says:

      Thank you! It is my form of relaxation and I get a final product that makes my husband nutty trying to decide where we will store all of the up coming blankets. Ahhh, two birds with one stone.


Leave a Reply

